Medical College of Georgia
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library
A-Z Index  |  MCG Home  |  Site Search 
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library at MCG
Home  |  About the Library  |  Resources  |  Guides for...  |  Services  |  Search  |  Ask a Librarian
Library photo
Photo by Phil Jones
  Home  >  Guides  >  Evidence-Based Medicine Guide

Evidence-Based Medicine Guide: Databases

Medline for Evidence Based Medicine
Point of Care Clinical Resources
Databases of Evidence and Search Engines
Databases for EBM Guidelines
Pharmacological EBM Resources

Medline for Evidence Based Medicine

PubMed Medline Systematic Reviews Filter  Quickly identify systematic reviews on a topic, including Cochrane reviews.

PubMed Medline Using My NCBI to Find the Evidence  My NCBI allows users to save searches or groups of citations, and sort results for tabbed browsing so that any search is automatically filtered into evidence related clusters.

PubMed (MEDLINE)  Search for clinical trials or systematic reviews in biomedical journals.

MEDLINE (via Ovid)  Search for clinical trials or systematic reviews in biomedical journals. MEDLINE includes 16 million journal citations. Use the Limit menu labeled "Clinical Queries" to access high quality clinical trials on specific clinical topics.  Also includes EBM Reviews: ACP Journal Club, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects and Cochrane Methodology Register.

          Return to top

Point of Care Clinical Resources

ACP PIER (via STAT!Ref)  Authoritative, evidence-based guidance for clinical care. Evidence is graded based on the type of research study and the quality of the evidence.

DynaMed  Information on diseases and conditions are organized into categories for ease of use and quick answers to clinical questions.  Links are provided to full-text electronic resources.  Available for PDAs.

Micromedex HealthCare Series Comprehensive disease and drug information resource including major drug references and annotations written by PharmDs. Available for PDAs.

UpToDate  Point of care clinical information resource written by physician authors. Articles now grade the evidence A-B-C For an example, search "lipid lowering drugs", click on "Intensity of lipid lowering therapy in secondary prevention of coronary heart disease", then view the "Summary and Recommendations" section. PDA version is available at extra cost.

          Return to top

Databases of Evidence and Search Engines
 
Clinical Trials  National Institutes of Health database of clinical research studies

Cochrane Library (via Ovid)  Premier evidence based medicine resource composed of:

    Database of Systematic Reviews containing systematic reviews and meta-analyses conducted by Cochrane Study Groups
    Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects [DARE] including systematic reviews and meta-analyses from non-Cochrane sources, many with structured abstracts with comments on the reviews and full text of the review is available via the Online Journals A to Z list
    Central Register of Controlled Trials indexes many trials not included in MEDLINE
    HTA and NHS EED include evidence based reviews of technology and economic issues
Current Controlled Trials  Current Controlled Trials allows users to search, register and share information about randomized controlled trials.

Health Services Technology/Assessment Texts (HSTAT)  The Health Services Technology/Assessment Texts (HSTAT) is a free resource from AHRQ, providing full-text documents that support health care decision making.  Links to NCBI Bookshelf.

National Institutes of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) Cochrane Neonatal  Resource for systematic reviews of child health topics.

Centre for Reviews  Resource for systematic reviews of health economics and technology assessment. Also maintains the DARE database included in Cochrane.

OTseeker  Critically appraised and rated abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy, designed to provide evaluations of validity and interpretability. 

PEDro - Physiotherapy Evidence Database  Critically appraised and rated abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials relevant to physical therapy, designed to provide evaluations of validity and interpretability. 

PrimeAnswers  Locate high quality, evidence based medical literature using this metasearch engine. Some resources in the results list may require subscriptions that the Greenblatt Library does not provide, but many of our resources are included in the results.

Relemed  A search engine for MEDLINE.  Increases specificity and precision of retrieval by searching for query words within sentences rather than the whole article. It uses sentence-level concurrence as a statistical surrogate for the existence of relationship between the words. It also estimates a relevance score and sorts the results on this basis, thus shifting irrelevant articles lower down the list.

SUMSearch  Identify sources of evidence based information using this metasearch engine.

TRIP Database  Locate high quality, evidence based medical literature using this metasearch engine.

          Return to top

Databases for EBM Guidelines
 
Guidelines International Network Links to worldwide sources of guidelines. Organized by health topic (see Public Section).

National Guideline Clearinghouse  A U.S. resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. A display tool allows side by side comparison of guidelines.

NHS National Institute for Clinical Excellence (NICE)  British evidence based guidance on technology use, clinical care, and interventional procedures.

Guide to Clinical Preventive Services  Sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).  Rigorous, impartial assessments of the scientific evidence for the effectiveness of a broad range of clinical preventative services, including screening, counseling, and preventive medications.

          Return to top

Pharmacological EBM Resources

Cochrane Library (via Ovid)  Premier evidence based medicine resource composed of:
  • Database of Systematic Reviews containing systematic reviews and meta-analyses conducted by Cochrane Study Groups
  • Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects [DARE] including systematic reviews and meta-analyses from non-Cochrane sources, many with structured abstracts with comments on the reviews and full text of the review is available via the Online Journals A to Z list
  • Central Register of Controlled Trials indexes many trials not included in MEDLINE
  • HTA and NHS EED include evidence based reviews of technology and economic issues
Micromedex Healthcare Series  Comprehensive disease and drug information resource including major drug references and annotations written by PharmDs. Available for PDAs.

          Return to top          Next Section: EBM Topics & Tools


Copyright 2010
Medical College of Georgia
All rights reserved.
Medical College of Georgia
Please email comments, suggestions or questions to:
sbandy@mcg.edu
February 15, 2010