Medical College of Georgia
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library
A-Z Index  |  MCG Home  |  Site Search 
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library at MCG
Home  |  About the Library  |  Resources  |  Guides for...  |  Services  |  Search  |  Ask a Librarian

 

Responsible Literature Searching: MEDLINE

RLS Home

Intro to Lit Searching
Searching Techniques
Database Overviews
Points to Remember
Liaison Page
Module Quiz

Core Databases
MEDLINE
CINAHL
Module Quiz
Evidence-Based Practice
PICO Model
Cochrane Databases
Point of Care Resources
Module Quiz
Medical References
eBooks
STAT!Ref (e-textbooks)
Micromedex Overview
Micromedex Disease
Module Quiz
Citation Searching
Web of Knowledge
Journal Citation Reports
Related Article Search
Module Quiz
Drug References
Drug Safety Overview
Micromedex Resources
TOXNET Databases
PubChem
Module Quiz
Desktop Article Access
Find It @ MCG
ePublications
Module Quiz
References & Credits

NLM

What is MEDLINE®?

  • It is the U. S. National Library of Medicine’s® most comprehensive and authoritative biomedical  database in the world covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences

  • Contains over 15 million citations dating back to 1950

  • Records in MEDLINE have been assigned “Medical Subject Headings” (MeSH) as the authority list of controlled vocabulary terms to assist users in their searches

  • Indexes journal citations and abstracts from 5,000+ biomedical journals

  • Includes articles from 80 countries in addition to the United States

  • Searching the MEDLINE database is the starting point for finding biomedical literature.

  • For journal articles that address clinical questions. Publication types included are clinical trials, RCT, double blind studies, and case reports. Key categories of therapy, diagnosis, prognosis and etiology are emphasized

  • For journal articles that address human basic research. Publication types included are research support N.I.H. and research support U.S. Gov’t, P.H.S.

Back

Next: Learn more about Greenblatt Library’s available interfaces to MEDLINE. They are Ovid and PubMed