Medical College of Georgia
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library
A-Z Index  |  MCG Home  |  Site Search 
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library at MCG
Home  |  About the Library  |  Resources  |  Guides for...  |  Services  |  Search  |  Ask a Librarian

 

Responsible Literature Searching: Ovid MEDLINE

RLS Home

Intro to Lit Searching
Searching Techniques
Database Overviews
Points to Remember
Liaison Page
Module Quiz

Core Databases
MEDLINE
CINAHL
Module Quiz
Evidence-Based Practice
PICO Model
Cochrane Databases
Point of Care Resources
Module Quiz
Medical References
eBooks
Micromedex Overview
Micromedex Disease
Module Quiz
Citation Searching
Web of Knowledge
Journal Citation Reports
Related Article Search
Module Quiz
Drug References
Drug Safety Overview
Micromedex Resources
TOXNET Databases
PubChem
Module Quiz
Desktop Article Access
Find It@MCG
eJournals
Module Quiz
References & Credits
Ovid Home Page

What is Ovid?

Ovid Technologies is a commercial vendor that has created a unique search interface for MEDLINE and other bibliographic databases in the health sciences.  In early 2008 Ovid released a new interface for MEDLINE. This also includes an interface change to the EBM Reviews. Access Ovid using the library web site quick link.

Quick Link Ovid

Ovid Search Strengths

  • MEDLINE is divided by publication date:

    • Ovid MEDLINE 1996 to current week

    • Ovid MEDLINE 1950 to 1995

    • Ovid MEDLINE In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations (current week)

    • OvidOLDMEDLINE 1950-1965

  • Advanced Ovid Search tab

    • System maps terms to a list of relevant Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) for each term

      • Searcher may find alternate or more accurate terms in suggested list provided by the mapping

      • Easy access to MeSH hierarchical tree; view term’s relationship to broader or narrower terms

      • Quick option to limit MeSH term to subheadings

      • MeSH allows searchers to find articles that use different terms for identical concepts, for example, neoplasm would also find tumor articles

  • Can view and combine search sets easily

    • Additional limits are available for publication type and journal subsets

  • Can search for article titles and journal table of contents

  • Additional Limits feature enables users to set EBM filters for major categories:

    • Therapy, diagnosis, prognosis, reviews, clinical prediction guides, qualitative studies, etiology, costs, and economics

  • Full-text articles use the Find It @ MCG icon Find It @ MCG icon

  • Recommended searching string is to enter each term separately; combine sets or apply limits to results

  • Save Search/Alert function allows users to store search sets, go to Personal Account as users must set up an account for access

Ovid Search Cautions:

  • Basic Search tab 

    • This Natural Language Processing searches word variants (e.g. plurals, foreign spellings, etc.) then it ranks and sorts the results using another algorithm for relevancy.

  • To find the most recent citations, users must select the Ovid MEDLINE In-Process. In-Process content include

    • Publisher supplied citations (before publication in print journal)

    • Ahead of print citations (articles from journal web site in online format only)

    • Searching can only be completed by using several keywords and synonyms for concepts does not realize that tumor=neoplasm as MeSH does

    • Citation record only includes the title, author & citation information

  • Advanced Ovid Search tab, using Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)

    • Any term you select will automatically explode. This means a selected Subject Heading will include narrow terms listed below in the hierarchical structure of MeSH

      • Must uncheck box to exclude this feature and only focus on the selected Subject Heading

    • The Ovid Mapping Display for Subject Headings allows users to choose more than one term. Choosing multiple terms from this list of terms eliminates the option to add subheadings

    • In the Ovid Mapping Display for Subject Heading when choosing more than one term the default option for searching is OR;

      • Search results may lead to articles with no common relationship between the Subject Headings. For example, selecting the two Subject Headings terms, Hypertension or Hypertension, Pregnancy-Induced will include articles from different genders and both types of hypertension

  • May miss some articles that do not use expected MeSH heading in the text

  • System times out after brief inactive period

    • Must refresh page or click display to keep search active

For a complete tutorial on how to use the Ovid MEDLINE interface see the Online Tutorials page.

Back

Next: PubMed