Medical College of Georgia
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library
A-Z Index  |  MCG Home  |  Site Search 
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library at MCG
Home  |  About the Library  |  Resources  |  Guides for...  |  Services  |  Search  |  Ask a Librarian

 

Responsible Literature Searching: MICROMEDEX® Alternative Medicine Database

RLS Home

Intro to Lit Searching
Searching Techniques
Database Overviews
Points to Remember
Liaison Page
Module Quiz

Core Databases
MEDLINE
CINAHL
Module Quiz
Evidence-Based Practice
PICO Model
Cochrane Databases
Point of Care Resources
Module Quiz
Medical References
eBooks
Micromedex Overview
Micromedex Disease
Module Quiz
Citation Searching
Web of Knowledge
Journal Citation Reports
Related Article Search
Module Quiz
Drug References
Drug Safety Overview
Micromedex Resources
TOXNET Databases
PubChem
Module Quiz
Desktop Article Access
Find It@MCG
eJournals
Module Quiz
References & Credits
MICROMEDEX® Alternative Medicine
  • Evidence-based monographs on herbals, dietary supplements, etc., and information on alternative therapies of common health conditions

  • This database is searchable by clicking on “select databases” on the main keyword page, “Uncheck All” checked databases then select the Alternative Medicine database choice. Also available under the Patient Education tab listed as the AltCareDex Alternative Medicine Education for information written with the patient in mind

  • Results are listed as Complementary & Alternative Medicine. Features include:

    • AltMedDex® Evaluations

      • Full summaries of alternative medicines

    • AltMedDex® Consults

      • Short monographs about alternative medicines

    • AltMedDex® Protocols

      • Integrating alternative medicines with conventional therapies

    • AltCareDex® Alternative Medicine Education

      • Patient handouts on alternative medicine

      • Located under the Patient Education Tab

    • RPS Herbal Medicines

      • Brief alternative medicine summaries from the Royal Pharmaceutical Society

AltCareDex—Alternative Medicine Education

AltCareDex: Alternative Medicine Education
  • Fully referenced patient counseling materials, written and peer-reviewed by representatives from both conventional and western medicine and the alternative medicine communities

  • Available under the Patient Education tab as well as in the drug database Complementary & Alternative Medicine results section

Back

Next: Reproductive Risk