Medical College of Georgia
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library
A-Z Index  |  MCG Home  |  Site Search 
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library at MCG
Home  |  About the Library  |  Resources  |  Guides for...  |  Services  |  Search  |  Ask a Librarian

 

Responsible Literature Searching: MICROMEDEX® Drug Information

RLS Home

Intro to Lit Searching
Searching Techniques
Database Overviews
Points to Remember
Liaison Page
Module Quiz

Core Databases
MEDLINE
CINAHL
Module Quiz
Evidence-Based Practice
PICO Model
Cochrane Databases
Point of Care Resources
Module Quiz
Medical References
eBooks
Micromedex Overview
Micromedex Disease
Module Quiz
Citation Searching
Web of Knowledge
Journal Citation Reports
Related Article Search
Module Quiz
Drug References
Drug Safety Overview
Micromedex Resources
TOXNET Databases
PubChem
Module Quiz
Desktop Article Access
Find It@MCG
eJournals
Module Quiz
References & Credits

To search for drug information in MICROMEDEX®, select the tab for Drugs, and then choose the Specific Database Search option from the drop-down menu. This searching screen allows you to search drug information along with Alternative Medicine and REPRORISK® if information is available. The Toxicology databases are not searched.  The “Check All” or “Uncheck All” feature is available so you can choose which drug information databases you prefer.

MICROMEDEX Drug Information

DRUGDEX® System

This online system provides users with current drug information which is also referenced in the primary literature. The DRUGDEX® System includes:

  • DRUGDEX® Evaluations divides the content into the following topics:

    • Adverse effects

    • Comparison with

    • Dose, adult

    • Dose, pediatric

    • Indications for FDA labeled and non-FDA labeled

    • Clinical applications

    • Pharmacokinetics

  • DRUGDEX® Consults is material related to drug evaluations usually from case histories or information from the FDA or other government agencies.  Typically written by drug information specialists. 

  • DRUGDEX® Tradename List:

    • Specific database that will search for drug trade names in DRUGDEX and Martindale’s

    • Includes Index Nominum, the international guide to drugs and derivatives

PDR® (Physicians’ Desk Reference)

FDA-approved data for:

  • Prescription

  • Nonprescription

  • Ophthalmic pharmaceuticals

MARTINDALE

Extensive international drug information:

  • Includes investigational and herbal drugs

  • Electronic version of the Martindale textbooks published by Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain

USP DI®

United States Pharmacopeia Drug Information:

  • Expert-reviewed drug monographs, categories including indications, dosage, drug interactions and precautions, side/adverse effects, pharmacology/pharmacokinetics, patient consultations, and available dosage forms

  • Patient counseling guidelines

P&T QUIK® Reports

Reports on new FDA-approved drugs and drugs of immediate interest

Back

Next: Toxicology Databases