Medical College of Georgia
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library
A-Z Index  |  MCG Home  |  Site Search 
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library at MCG
Home  |  About the Library  |  Resources  |  Guides for...  |  Services  |  Search  |  Ask a Librarian

 

Responsible Literature Searching: Drug Safety Overview

RLS Home

Intro to Lit Searching
Searching Techniques
Database Overviews
Points to Remember
Liaison Page
Module Quiz

Core Databases
MEDLINE
CINAHL
Module Quiz
Evidence-Based Practice
PICO Model
Cochrane Databases
Point of Care Resources
Module Quiz
Medical References
eBooks
STAT!Ref (e-textbooks)
Micromedex Overview
Micromedex Disease
Module Quiz
Citation Searching
Web of Knowledge
Journal Citation Reports
Related Article Search
Module Quiz
Drug References
Drug Safety Overview
Micromedex Resources
TOXNET Databases
PubChem
Module Quiz
Desktop Article Access
Find It @ MCG
ePublications
Module Quiz
References & Credits

Death of a healthy subject in a drug trial (“hexamethonium”) temporarily halted all federally funded research at Johns Hopkins University in 2001.

  • A more comprehensive literature search for evidence of safety about hexamenthonium performed prior to the clinical trial may have revealed information that could have prevented the subject’s death

What is the standard for a comprehensive literature search?

What are the best practice steps for a comprehensive literature search?

  1. Identify the drug by its class and alternate names

  2. Consult reference sources

    • Textbooks, compendia, and full-text databases such as MICROMEDEX®, and review articles

  3. Consult secondary sources

    • Indexing and abstracting services of the primary literature such as Medline, Web of Knowledge including Web of Science (combined databases of both Science Citation and Social Sciences Citation) and Current Contents (see Databases web page)

    • Select the sources with the best evidence of safety or adverse effects for the drug and create a bibliography

What are some online reference sources for drug information?

Where can I find Print sources for retrospective drug information in the Greenblatt Library?

  • Drug Facts and Comparisons (Reference QV 772 .F142)

  • Physicians’ Desk Reference (Reference QV 772 .P578)

  • Ellenhorn’s Medical Toxicology (Books QV 600 .E45 1997)

  • The Extra Pharmacopoeia/Martindale (Reference QV 738.FA1 M384e)

  • Quarterly Cumulative Index Medicus (1927 - 1956) (History Reference)

  • Index Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General (1873-1948 History Reference)

  • Science Citation Index (1961 – 2000) [Note: use Web of Knowledge to search this content online from 1977 – present]

The Department of Pharmacy maintains the MCG Health System Formulary searchable by keyword, alphabetically, or by therapeutic category. Drug information is also available from the department’s homepage from LexiComp Online and AHFS Drug Information (from AHFSfirst Web). Access to Department of Pharmacy drug information products is restricted to on-campus or to pharmacy personnel. The Greenblatt Library’s Drug Information web page lists additional resources and links to the Department of Pharmacy homepage.

Back

Next: MICROMEDEX® Drug Resources