Medical College of Georgia
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library
A-Z Index  |  MCG Home  |  Site Search 
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library at MCG
Home  |  About the Library  |  Resources  |  Guides for...  |  Services  |  Search  |  Ask a Librarian

 

Responsible Literature Searching: PubChem

RLS Home

Intro to Lit Searching
Searching Techniques
Database Overviews
Points to Remember
Liaison Page
Module Quiz

Core Databases
MEDLINE
CINAHL
Module Quiz
Evidence-Based Practice
PICO Model
Cochrane Databases
Point of Care Resources
Module Quiz
Medical References
eBooks
STAT!Ref (e-textbooks)
Micromedex Overview
Micromedex Disease
Module Quiz
Citation Searching
Web of Knowledge
Journal Citation Reports
Related Article Search
Module Quiz
Drug References
Drug Safety Overview
Micromedex Resources
TOXNET Databases
PubChem
Module Quiz
Desktop Article Access
Find It @ MCG
ePublications
Module Quiz
References & Credits
PubChem

PubChem

  • Information on the biological activities of small molecules

  • Three primary interrelated databases: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay

  • Users can search PubChem within the PubMed search interface

PubChem Strengths

  • Records for chemicals/compounds include:

    • Physical properties

    • Protein structure

    • Synonyms

    • Bioactivity

  • Links to PubMed articles on chemicals for each record

    • Utilizes MeSH headings

  • Good linkage between individual databases

  • Find related chemical to initial search term in the following categories:

    • Same parent

    • Mixture/component compound

    • Similar compounds

PubChem Search Cautions

  • Limited to small molecular weight chemicals/compounds

  • Chemical information available from public sources

    • Proprietary information from Chemical  Abstracts and other commercial  resources may not be included

  • Simple search box design, no advanced searching options

    • Single database searching only

  • Chemicals may have multiple/similar names

    • Must search variants to retrieve all records

Back

Next: Module Quiz