Medical College of Georgia
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library
A-Z Index  |  MCG Home  |  Site Search 
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library at MCG
Home  |  About the Library  |  Resources  |  Guides for...  |  Services  |  Search  |  Ask a Librarian

 

Responsible Literature Searching: TOXNET

RLS Home

Intro to Lit Searching
Searching Techniques
Database Overviews
Points to Remember
Liaison Page
Module Quiz

Core Databases
MEDLINE
CINAHL
Module Quiz
Evidence-Based Practice
PICO Model
Cochrane Databases
Point of Care Resources
Module Quiz
Medical References
eBooks
STAT!Ref (e-textbooks)
Micromedex Overview
Micromedex Disease
Module Quiz
Citation Searching
Web of Knowledge
Journal Citation Reports
Related Article Search
Module Quiz
Drug References
Drug Safety Overview
Micromedex Resources
TOXNET Databases
PubChem
Module Quiz
Desktop Article Access
Find It @ MCG
ePublications
Module Quiz
References & Credits
TOXNET

TOXNET is "databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases".

TOXNET Search Strengths

  • Portal to toxicology, biohazards, chemical hazards, and environmental health

  • Single or multiple database search

    • Choose database or database grouping from set list

  • Use Browse Index Option to search specific fields

  • Available search fields vary by individual databases; examples include:

    • MeSH Headings

    • Chemical Name

    • Synonyms

    • CAS Register Number

  • ChemIDPlus database provides a visual tool for chemical substance information

    • ChemID Plus Lite - chemical dictionary and chemical structure database searchable by substance name or CAS Registry number

    • ChemID Plus Advanced - search by substance name and CAS Registry number like the Lite version, but also searchable by structure, toxicity, physical properties, locator codes, and molecular weight

  • Limits are available for individual databases including:

    • Human health effects

    • Emergency medicine treatment

    • Pharmacology

  • Includes access to TOXLINE database of medical literature on toxicology information

  • Linked on Greenblatt Library’s guide for clinicians, drug information page, and the complementary and alternative medicine resources page

TOXNET Search Cautions

  • Basic search interface

    • Designed for simple strategy ANDing terms together

  • No method to combine multiple subject or substances easily

  • Assumes user is familiar with chemical substance naming conventions

    • May miss citations indexed under name variations of substance

  • Multi-database search results are relevancy ranked by the system

    • Searcher may need to scroll down to preferred type of information resource

  • Must choose individual chemical from list after initial search to see results

  • Database records are quite lengthy unlike MEDLINE abstracts

    • Searcher must choose section of interest for easier viewing or printing

Back

Next: TOXNET Databases