Medical College of Georgia
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library
A-Z Index  |  MCG Home  |  Site Search 
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library at MCG
Home  |  About the Library  |  Resources  |  Guides for...  |  Services  |  Search  |  Ask a Librarian

 

Responsible Literature Searching: TOXNET® Databases

RLS Home

Intro to Lit Searching
Searching Techniques
Database Overviews
Points to Remember
Liaison Page
Module Quiz

Core Databases
MEDLINE
CINAHL
Module Quiz
Evidence-Based Practice
PICO Model
Cochrane Databases
Point of Care Resources
Module Quiz
Medical References
eBooks
Micromedex Overview
Micromedex Disease
Module Quiz
Citation Searching
Web of Knowledge
Journal Citation Reports
Related Article Search
Module Quiz
Drug References
Drug Safety Overview
Micromedex Resources
TOXNET Databases
PubChem
Module Quiz
Desktop Article Access
Find It@MCG
eJournals
Module Quiz
References & Credits

TOXNET® is an umbrella site of government databases on toxicology, hazardous chemical, environmental health, and toxic releases.

ChemIDplus®  

  • Dictionary of over 370,000 chemicals

    • Search names, synonyms

    • Search using structures option

Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB®) 

  • Comprehensive toxicology data for about 5,000 chemicals

    • Human and animal toxicity

    • Safety and handling

    • Environmental concerns

Toxicology Literature Online (TOXLINE®)

  • Extensive references on effects of drug substances/chemicals in humans and animals

    • Biochemical and pharmacological effects

    • Physiological, and toxicological effects

Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology (DART)

  • Developmental toxicology literature

  • Reproductive toxicology literature

Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System (CCRIS)

  • Carcinogenicity and mutagenicity test results

  • 8,000+ chemicals included

Genetic Toxicology Data Bank (GENE-TOX)

  • Peer-reviewed genetic toxicology test data

  • 3,000+ chemicals included

Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS)

  • Hazard identification

  • Dose-response assessments

  • 500+ chemicals available

International Toxicity Estimates for Risk (ITER)

  • Risk information on 600+ chemicals

  • Data provided by authoritative worldwide organizations

LactMed

  • A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed

  • Information includes the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant

Multi-Database

  • Search all factual chemical databases which include HSDB, CCRIS, ITER, IRIS, GENE-TOX, and LactMed

Toxics Release Inventory (TRI)

  • Provides information on the releases of over 600 specific chemicals into the environment as reported annually by industrial facilities around the United States

Haz-Map

  • Links jobs and hazardous tasks with occupational diseases and their symptoms

Household Products

  • Potential health effects of chemicals in 6,000 common household products

TOXMAP

  • A web site that uses maps of the United States to show the amount and location of certain toxic chemicals released into the environment

Additional Resources

Carcinogenic Potency Database (CPDB)

  • Developed by the University of California, Berkeley, and by the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, this database reports analysis of animal cancer tests on 1547 chemicals. Results for each chemical are now searchable via the National Library of Medicine (NLM) Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET(r)).

ToxSeek is an NLM (National Library of Medicine) metasearch engine and clustering tool that enables the simultaneous searching of many different toxicology and environmental health information databases and Web sites. ToxSeek enhancements include:

  • A new spell checker with English and medical dictionaries

  • The automatic inclusion of medical subject headings (MeSH) in the subject clusters

  • The addition of TOXMAP® (environmental health e-maps) and Tox Town (an interactive guide to commonly encountered toxic substances)

  • Refinements to the search strategies of the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) sites

  • The addition of WHO (World Health Organization)

Back

Next: PubChem