Medical College of Georgia
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library
A-Z Index  |  MCG Home  |  Site Search 
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library at MCG
Home  |  About the Library  |  Resources  |  Guides for...  |  Services  |  Search  |  Ask a Librarian

 

Responsible Literature Searching: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)

RLS Home

Intro to Lit Searching
Searching Techniques
Database Overviews
Points to Remember
Liaison Page
Module Quiz

Core Databases
MEDLINE
CINAHL
Module Quiz
Evidence-Based Practice
PICO Model
Cochrane Databases
Point of Care Resources
Module Quiz
Medical References
eBooks
Micromedex Overview
Micromedex Disease
Module Quiz
Citation Searching
Web of Knowledge
Journal Citation Reports
Related Article Search
Module Quiz
Drug References
Drug Safety Overview
Micromedex Resources
TOXNET Databases
PubChem
Module Quiz
Desktop Article Access
Find It@MCG
eJournals
Module Quiz
References & Credits
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
  • Includes full text of systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare produced by The Cochrane Collaboration.

  • Updated quarterly

  • Reviews are presented in two types: 

    • Regularly updated Cochrane Reviews;

    • Protocols for reviews currently being prepared.

      • Protocols include the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation.

  • Cochrane is divided into fifty topic groups; searchers can Browse Contents as a searching option.

  • Search limits include new reviews and those that have had a significant update since the last quarter.

Cochrane Reviews Search Strengths

  • Focused database of some 4600+ topic reviews allows effective keyword searching.

  • EBM Topic Review links to the complete full text record whether it is a review or a protocol.

  • Reviews are available to download in a PDF format

Cochrane Reviews Search Cautions

  • Does not consistently use a system of subject headings or indexing terms which are database search features proven to result in greater recall and precision of results.

    • No “mapping” as available in Medline for your keyword choices to help pick up variations in terminology

    • Requires searcher to use synonyms and wildcards to capture these variations; synonym and wildcard terminology requires a sophisticated level of database familiarity, which can invoke frustration when search results are not as expected

  • Be aware of British vs. American spellings for all EBM Review databases

Back

Next: Database of Reviews of Effects