|
Responsible Literature Searching: New EBM Reviews Databases
|
|

Three EBM Review components have been added to Ovid
These components retrieve records that focus on improving treatment, care, and patient safety, as well as reducing costs. The interface to each of these databases is in OvidSP so users will apply search strategies as they do in Medline. Some of the Limits are slightly different. Local Holdings will restrict to documents from the Journals@Ovid collection. Use the e-publications list to check all sources of available full-text journal articles subscribed by the Library since the Greenblatt Library does not list their full-text icon Find It@MCG for these databases.
Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
Includes over 9,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings and reports, and other publications of methodologies used in health care studies. It is produced by The Cochrane Collaboration.
Updated quarterly; years covered includes 1995 to the present
Search limits include New Reviews, Local Holdings, Abstracts, and Publication Years
For browsing the latest methodological reviews, choose the New Reviews limit
Additional limits are Publication Types: Book, Conference Proceedings, Journal Article, Other, or Section of Book
Health Technology Assessment (HTA)
This database brings together details on ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions)
It is produced by the UK’s Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD), in collaboration with the Sweden’s International Network of Agencies for Health Technology Assessment (INAHTA)
The abstracts in the database are descriptive rather than analytical and do not provide critical appraisals of the reports
Structured abstract provides Study Information which can include (type of intervention, cost information, sources searched, author’s objectives, and copyright comments) and the Author’s Conclusions
Brief abstracts only include the reviewed source
Many different types of research are included in the HTA database, including systematic reviews and ongoing and completed research based on trials, questionnaires and economic evaluations.
Updated quarterly; years covered includes 2001 to the present
Search limits include Animals, Humans, English Language, Review Article, New Reviews, Male, Female, Local Holdings, CRD Commentary, and Publication Years
Additional limits include: Language, Age Groups, Publication Type (Clinical Trial, Practice Guideline, and Review), Animal Type, and Check Tags (animals, female, humans, male, and pregnancy)
A limit to CRD Commentary will restrict retrieval to documents that contain an evaluation of the original article by the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination.
NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED)
-
This database aims to assist decision-makers by systematically identifying and describing economic evaluations, appraising their quality, and highlighting their relative strengths and weaknesses.
The National Health Service (NHS) is funded by the departments’ Research and Development Program and produced by the CRD, and provides cost-benefit analyses about healthcare interventions.
Updated quarterly; years covered includes 1995 to the present
Search limits include Animals, Humans, English Language, Review Article, New Reviews, Male, Female, Local Holdings, CRD Commentary, and Publication Years
Additional limits include: Language, Age Groups, Publication Type (Case Reports, Clinical Trial, Clinical Trail, All, Controlled Clinical Trial, and Review), Animal Type, and Check Tags (animals, female, humans, male, and pregnancy)
Structured abstracts include Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) terms as well as Study Information and Author’s Conclusions
|
|