Medical College of Georgia
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library
A-Z Index  |  MCG Home  |  Site Search 
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library at MCG
Home  |  About the Library  |  Resources  |  Guides for...  |  Services  |  Search  |  Ask a Librarian

 

Responsible Literature Searching: UpToDate

RLS Home

Intro to Lit Searching
Searching Techniques
Database Overviews
Points to Remember
Liaison Page
Module Quiz

Core Databases
MEDLINE
CINAHL
Module Quiz
Evidence-Based Practice
PICO Model
Cochrane Databases
Point of Care Resources
Module Quiz
Medical References
eBooks
Micromedex Overview
Micromedex Disease
Module Quiz
Citation Searching
Web of Knowledge
Journal Citation Reports
Related Article Search
Module Quiz
Drug References
Drug Safety Overview
Micromedex Resources
TOXNET Databases
PubChem
Module Quiz
Desktop Article Access
Find It@MCG
eJournals
Module Quiz
References & Credits
UpToDate
  • Access limited to on-campus use due to publisher restrictions

  • Clinical reference designed to provide quick access to synthesized medical information

  • Composed of thousands of topic reviews addressing specific clinical issues

  • Content areas include

    • Family Practice

    • Internal Medicine (with subspecialties)

    • Obstetrics and Gynecology

    • Pediatrics

  • Available from Library web site Quick Link

UpToDate

UpToDate Search

UpToDate Search Strengths

  • Search single or multiple terms at the same time (natural language incline)

  • Search results show a split screen, search results along with a topic outline

    • Find in Topic is a pop-up window where you can search for an exact word or synonym within the topic results

  • For family physicians, the database is of high quality. 

    • Topics generally require no more than a few minutes for each search.

    • The “Find in Text” feature, or its keyboard shortcut, Ctrl-F, allows users to find text string matches within the current monograph.

  • Clicking on any reference links users to that article’s citation

    • MEDLINE abstract if available is provided upon clicking reference link

  • What’s New tab

    • Provides a summary of the most important changes in medicine, by specialty

  • Patient Info tab

    • Patients can visit a free web site: UpToDate for Patients

    • Patient information topics can be emailed or printed for the use of the patient and their family

  • Type in the word “calculators” in the search box to retrieve a list of the most commonly used calculators in medicine

UpToDate Search Cautions

  • Updated only quarterly

  • Does not support use of Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT)

  • Must click through multiple layers to access patient handouts

  • Some topics are not cross-referenced in the database

  • Topics are not always searchable under separate terms

  • Stronger coverage of major topics are well represented in the literature

Back

Next: Module Quiz