Medical College of Georgia
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library
A-Z Index  |  MCG Home  |  Site Search 
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library at MCG
Home  |  About the Library  |  Resources  |  Guides for...  |  Services  |  Search  |  Ask a Librarian

 

Responsible Literature Searching: Introduction to Literature Searching

RLS Home

Intro to Lit Searching
Searching Techniques
Database Overviews
Points to Remember
Liaison Page
Module Quiz

Core Databases
MEDLINE
CINAHL
Module Quiz
Evidence-Based Practice
PICO Model
Cochrane Databases
Point of Care Resources
Module Quiz
Medical References
eBooks
STAT!Ref (e-textbooks)
Micromedex Overview
Micromedex Disease
Module Quiz
Citation Searching
Web of Knowledge
Journal Citation Reports
Related Article Search
Module Quiz
Drug References
Drug Safety Overview
Micromedex Resources
TOXNET Databases
PubChem
Module Quiz
Desktop Article Access
Find It @ MCG
ePublications
Module Quiz
References & Credits

The breadth of medical literature available online is growing daily. The challenge is to know which database will provide significant information for your particular needs, as well as how to use these databases effectively when searching the literature. This module was created to provide that knowledge. This module introduces a selection of core databases and demonstrates searching techniques that contribute to more effective information retrieval. This module also introduces the library’s liaison program, a program developed to assist you with your research needs whether you are a basic scientist or a clinician.

Upon completion of this module, you will be able to:

  • locate peer reviewed and evidence-based literature

  • critically evaluate the information contained in the primary literature

  • synthesize materials to answer research questions

  • search with knowledge of the structure, function, and limitations of biomedical resources available for online literature searching

  • employ enhanced searching techniques for specific health information databases

Back

Next: General Searching Techniques