|
Responsible Literature Searching: Points to Remember
|
|
Recommended order of searching:
Define key terms and synonyms/related terms as necessary
Choose subject heading or controlled vocabulary from list if database offers this option
Search each term separately to increase results
Combine search terms using Boolean operators
-
Use limits to appropriate population, publications, gender, language
Consider using an evidence-based filter to focus results
Frame your search topic as a clinical question to help define the key concepts:
One relevant citation can be a useful tool to expand your results:
Look at the MeSH, subject headings, or keywords for alternative search terms
Use Related articles/records feature in PubMed, Web of Knowledge and Ovid to run a comparison algorithm of your selected article against the database(s)
Web of Knowledge will link to all articles with common references to the original article as well as articles citing the original work
Become familiar with other databases/resources in addition to MEDLINE
Each database/resource has specific tools for searching;
-
The most comprehensive listing of full-text resources is the ePublications list on the library’s home page under quick links
Knowing how terms are searched within the database will also assist you in achieving more effective search results. Typically terms are searched in a particular algorithm that includes the title, author, abstract, and the databases’ own controlled vocabulary which indexes the information.
|
|