Medical College of Georgia
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library
A-Z Index  |  MCG Home  |  Site Search 
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library at MCG
Home  |  About the Library  |  Resources  |  Guides for...  |  Services  |  Search  |  Ask a Librarian

 

Responsible Literature Searching: Books@Ovid

RLS Home

Intro to Lit Searching
Searching Techniques
Database Overviews
Points to Remember
Liaison Page
Module Quiz

Core Databases
MEDLINE
CINAHL
Module Quiz
Evidence-Based Practice
PICO Model
Cochrane Databases
Point of Care Resources
Module Quiz
Medical References
eBooks
Micromedex Overview
Micromedex Disease
Module Quiz
Citation Searching
Web of Knowledge
Journal Citation Reports
Related Article Search
Module Quiz
Drug References
Drug Safety Overview
Micromedex Resources
TOXNET Databases
PubChem
Module Quiz
Desktop Article Access
Find It@MCG
eJournals
Module Quiz
References & Credits

This multidisciplinary ebook collection includes popular titles such as ICU Book, Oski's Pediatrics, and Merritt's Neurology just to name a few.

Browse Collection:

Books@Ovid: Browse Books

Main Search Page:

Books@Ovid: Search Page

Four ways to search Books@Ovid:

  • Select a book:

    • The starburstStarburst graphicindicates recent updates

    • Search within Current Book or All Books

    • Paginated pages match with print textbook

  • Browse by Subject

  • Browse by Title

  • Quick Search of all books

Quick Links Ovid

Key Features Include:

  • Natural Language search (an algorithm that searches word variants (e.g. plurals, foreign spellings, etc.), strong synonyms, hyponyms, acronyms plus other resources), then it ranks and sorts the results using another algorithm. 

  • The relevancy ranking and sorting for the Books@Ovid results are based on an approximately sixteen step weighted algorithm.  Based on the NLP results, the main groups of the ranking and sorting algorithm consider: Concept Count, Concept Completeness, Concept Prominence, Concept Cohesion and Vocabulary Level. The result is a numerical value (not displayed) for each category component which is then compared position by position to determine rank (sort order within the five stars to one star groups).

  • Star relevance ranking indicate the number of one-to-one search concept matches

  • In search results, use the Search Aid to include related terms (synonyms, plurals, singular, word variations, and British/English spelling)

  • Ovid Full Text links to the passage within the textbook

  • Uncheck TOC for larger reading panel

  • Jumpstart e-mails a direct link to the viewing page (user and recipient must be MCG users)

Books@Ovid Strengths

  • Browse by Subject allows quick access to subspecialty collections

  • User can search for specific topic within book title

  • Print section icon highlights section for printing, no scrolling necessary

  • Bibliographic links to section passage

  • Ovid Full Text links to full text article

Books@Ovid Cautions

  • Many searching options to choose

  • Quick search user must search all books

  • Uncheck Title, Search, and TOC for larger reading panel in Ovid Full Text

  • Ovid Full Text links to passages within the textbook. Ovid uses the phrase Ovid Full Text in other databases to limit to only articles subscribed through Ovid

Back

Next: R2 Digital Library