Medical College of Georgia
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library
A-Z Index  |  MCG Home  |  Site Search 
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library at MCG
Home  |  About the Library  |  Resources  |  Guides for...  |  Services  |  Search  |  Ask a Librarian

 

Responsible Literature Searching: E-Books

RLS Home

Intro to Lit Searching
Searching Techniques
Database Overviews
Points to Remember
Liaison Page
Module Quiz

Core Databases
MEDLINE
CINAHL
Module Quiz
Evidence-Based Practice
PICO Model
Cochrane Databases
Point of Care Resources
Module Quiz
Medical References
eBooks
STAT!Ref (e-textbooks)
Micromedex Overview
Micromedex Disease
Module Quiz
Citation Searching
Web of Knowledge
Journal Citation Reports
Related Article Search
Module Quiz
Drug References
Drug Safety Overview
Micromedex Resources
TOXNET Databases
PubChem
Module Quiz
Desktop Article Access
Find It @ MCG
ePublications
Module Quiz
References & Credits

Electronic books (e-books) are digital versions of books; they are read using a computer or a special reading device:

  • a personal computer can be used for accessing, reading, studying and printing excerpts from most e-books

  • since e-book files are often large, limited memory and slow download times may affect use of some handheld devices

The Library’s eBook Resources are located on the home page under Resources.

Books@Ovid

  • This multidisciplinary e-book collection includes popular titles such as Washington Manual™, Harrison’s Manual of Medicine, and Nurses’ Guide to Clinical Procedures just to name a few.

  • Three ways to search Books@Ovid:

    • Select a book:

      • Listed starburst (*) indicates recent update automatically

      • Searching within current book or All Books

      • Paginated pages match with print textbook

    • Browse by Subject

    • Quick Search

  • Features:

    • Natural Language Processing, search (an algorithm that searches, word variants (e.g. plurals, foreign spellings, etc.), strong synonyms, hyponyms, acronyms plus other resources), then it ranks and sorts the results using another algorithm. 

    • The relevancy ranking and sorting for the Books@Ovid results are based on an approximately sixteen step weighted algorithm.  Based on the NLP results, the main groups of the ranking and sorting algorithm consider: Concept Count, Concept Completeness, Concept Prominence, Concept Cohesion and Vocabulary Level. The results, a numerical value (not displayed) from the algorithm, of each category components in the groups are compared position by position to determine rank (sort order within the five stars to one star groups).

    • Ranked with stars (Score) indicates the number of one-to-one search concepts match with the search terms used and the citation/abstract retrieval

    • Use the Search Aid, Broaden search to include related terms (synonyms, plurals, singular, word variations, and British/English spelling)

      • Only available in the Basic Search, Natural Language Search

    • Ovid Full Text links to the passage within the textbook

    • Uncheck TOC for larger reading panel

    • Jumpstart—e-mails URL right to the viewing page, precipitant must also be a MCG user

    • Access Books@Ovid from the Library e-Books page or the Ovid Quick Link on the Library web site.

STAT!Ref

  • Collection of e-books includes 5 Minute Clinical Consult, Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas, Harrison’s Principles and Practice, and Williams Obstetrics.

  • Access using the link above or select Stat!Ref from the library web site Quick Links

NCBI Bookshelf

  • Contains approximately 60+ books, searchable by subject and table of contents. 

  • Subject areas include:

    • Alternative medicine

    • Epidemiology

    • Genetics

    • Immunobiology

  • Small group of NCBI books are available to download to handheld device.

    • E-mail alert offer to notify when new titles are added to collection.

  • Access NCBI Bookshelf

    • From PubMed homepage, change Search box to Books then type in a search term in the text box

    • Link from PubMed Abstract or AbstractPlus display, “Cited in Books” is a feature which links your search results to available NCBI book chapters.

Back

Next: Stat!Ref