Medical College of Georgia
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library
A-Z Index  |  MCG Home  |  Site Search 
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library at MCG
Home  |  About the Library  |  Resources  |  Guides for...  |  Services  |  Search  |  Ask a Librarian

 

Responsible Literature Searching: MICROMEDEX® Database Overview

RLS Home

Intro to Lit Searching
Searching Techniques
Database Overviews
Points to Remember
Liaison Page
Module Quiz

Core Databases
MEDLINE
CINAHL
Module Quiz
Evidence-Based Practice
PICO Model
Cochrane Databases
Point of Care Resources
Module Quiz
Medical References
eBooks
STAT!Ref (e-textbooks)
Micromedex Overview
Micromedex Disease
Module Quiz
Citation Searching
Web of Knowledge
Journal Citation Reports
Related Article Search
Module Quiz
Drug References
Drug Safety Overview
Micromedex Resources
TOXNET Databases
PubChem
Module Quiz
Desktop Article Access
Find It @ MCG
ePublications
Module Quiz
References & Credits
Micromedex

MICROMEDEX® Database Overview

  • Greenblatt Library subscribes to two MICROMEDEX® applications:

  • “MICROMEDEX® Healthcare Series”

    • Organizes specialized databases by subject tabs

  • “CareNotes™ System”

    • Patient Education tool

    • Can also be accessed from within the Healthcare Series application.

  • The MICROMEDEX®  home page provides for comprehensive searches on:

    • Disease information

    • Drug information

    • Specific drug interactions

    • IV compatibility

    • Lab advisor components

    • Patient Education

  • mobileMICROMEDEX® is the point-of-care resource for Evidence-based clinical information for physicians, pharmacists, and nurses.  It is compatible with both Palm OS® and Pocket PC

  • Specific drug databases are included in the Drug Safety Module

  • Access MICROMEDEX® via library web site quick link

Micromedex Quick Link

MICROMEDEX® Search Strengths

  • Wide range of resources available from multiple databases

  • Find patient treatment and drug information with one search

  • Can search by subtopics to find results in specific areas

  • Key resource for differential diagnosis and treatment information

  • General search screen results are listed by area of database

  • System will suggest terms to use in the search

  • Can use truncation symbol (*) to capture multiple endings such as diabetes, diabetic

MICROMEDEX® Search Cautions

  • Does not perform a multiple word term searching well

    • Best for broad term searching such as angina

  • No method to combine multiple patient conditions

  • Searching across all databases is the default

    • Information presented via multi-database search can be overwhelming

    • Must chose specific database search option and checkmark databases

  • Hard to determine which section of the database to begin searching

  • MEDLINE references are included, but are usually not the most recent unless searcher chooses studies/alerts option

Back

Next: MICROMEDEX® Disease Information