Medical College of Georgia
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library
A-Z Index  |  MCG Home  |  Site Search 
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library at MCG
Home  |  About the Library  |  Resources  |  Guides for...  |  Services  |  Search  |  Ask a Librarian

 

Responsible Literature Searching: R2 Digital Library

RLS Home

Intro to Lit Searching
Searching Techniques
Database Overviews
Points to Remember
Liaison Page
Module Quiz

Core Databases
MEDLINE
CINAHL
Module Quiz
Evidence-Based Practice
PICO Model
Cochrane Databases
Point of Care Resources
Module Quiz
Medical References
eBooks
Micromedex Overview
Micromedex Disease
Module Quiz
Citation Searching
Web of Knowledge
Journal Citation Reports
Related Article Search
Module Quiz
Drug References
Drug Safety Overview
Micromedex Resources
TOXNET Databases
PubChem
Module Quiz
Desktop Article Access
Find It@MCG
eJournals
Module Quiz
References & Credits

R2 Digital Library is a web-based application that provides access to new eBooks in the areas of Medicine, Nursing, and Allied Health. Within each content area, search options include browse by an individual book title, by a discipline list, or a quick search.

R2 Digital Library home page:

R2 Digital Library Home Page

Browse Medicine Collection:

R2 Medicine Collection

Key Features Include:

  • Advance search feature for a keyword, author, book title, publisher, or editor search. An additional search option is an image only search. All images can be saved or exported. 

  • Standard interface icon buttons are Print Section, Email, and Export Bibliographic Citation. Use the My R2 tab to view marked Bookmarks or Add to My Reference list. This tab is also used to view the current search history.

  • Create your own My Library Home, accessible by clicking on the My R2 tab. This is an individual user name and password registration workspace for your saved search strategies, bookmarks, saved images, or references. Utilizing this resource provides quick access to material within several eBook titles.

R2 Digital Library Strengths

  • Searching can be limited to a specific discipline or all disciplines

  • My R2 allows exporting to Reference Manager or Endnote

  • Advanced Search allows the user to search a term and specify to view only images in the results

  • Hyper text links to references and terms related to the search topic

  • Search results are listed in two levels: Index or Full Text. The Index return (default) provides the most relevant search results. The Full Text return looks at the number of times the search term is present

R2 Digital Library Cautions

  • Index Search at section level is Medical Subject Headings (MeSH), keyword, and medical terms

  • Complimentary drug formularly, MobilePDR is offered to all subscribers. An alphabetical list of drug names, trade and generic, are listed though may not have content information as subscribers must purchase drug information monograph to support the Drug Index

Back

Next: STAT!Ref