Medical College of Georgia
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library
A-Z Index  |  MCG Home  |  Site Search 
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library at MCG
Home  |  About the Library  |  Resources  |  Guides for...  |  Services  |  Search  |  Ask a Librarian

 

Responsible Literature Searching: STAT!Ref: Medical Textbooks Online

RLS Home

Intro to Lit Searching
Searching Techniques
Database Overviews
Points to Remember
Liaison Page
Module Quiz

Core Databases
MEDLINE
CINAHL
Module Quiz
Evidence-Based Practice
PICO Model
Cochrane Databases
Point of Care Resources
Module Quiz
Medical References
eBooks
STAT!Ref (e-textbooks)
Micromedex Overview
Micromedex Disease
Module Quiz
Citation Searching
Web of Knowledge
Journal Citation Reports
Related Article Search
Module Quiz
Drug References
Drug Safety Overview
Micromedex Resources
TOXNET Databases
PubChem
Module Quiz
Desktop Article Access
Find It @ MCG
ePublications
Module Quiz
References & Credits
Stat!Ref Search
Keyword search across titles

Stat!Ref Table of Contents
Browse by title

The Title tab allows browsing the multidisciplinary collection by e-book title and table of contents. Some of the 80+ e-Book titles available from Stat!Ref include:

  • ACP Medicine

  • Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine

  • Swartz’s Principles of Surgery

  • Williams Obstetrics

Key features Include:

  • Simple, intuitive searching and cross-searching

  • Expandable table of contents

  • Evidence-Based Medicine resources integrated with traditional references

  • MedCalc 3000 tools and calculators 

  • ACP-PIER point-of-care resource is an authoritative, evidence-based guidance to improve clinical care. It provides intuitive keyword search functionality that yields accurate and trusted information from the American College of Physicians (ACP). A collection of disease modules that can be searched and browsed alphabetically with the Palm™ Operating System. Eight to ten new modules are added every month.

  • Stat!Notes allows you to annotate any paragraph in a Stat!Ref e-books.  A Preference account must be set-up ahead of time. 

  • Access Stat!Ref from library web site quick link

Stat!Ref Quick Link

STAT!Ref Search Strengths:

  • Default precision searching: finds the closest match for a search phrase with a minimum of effort

  • Cross-searching across entire database

  • Automatic related terms searching

STAT!Ref  Search Cautions

  • Be as specific as possible (e.g., myocardial infarction instead of chest pain)

  • To search a phrase, put it in quotes (e.g., “myocardial infarction”)

  • Do not use terms such as “of,” “and,” or “the”

  • Use both American and British spellings

Back

Next: MICROMEDEX® Healthcare Series